Growth Energy Awards Kwik Trip’s Joel Hirschboeck with America’s Fuel Award at Ninth Annual ELC

Boca Raton, Fla. — Yesterday, Feb. 8, Growth Energy awarded its highest honor – the America’s Fuel Award – to Joel Hirschboeck, general manager of fuel marketing and procurement at Kwik Trip, Inc., at the association’s ninth annual Executive Leadership Conference (ELC). The America’s Fuel Award is presented every year to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to act as a champion for the renewable fuels industry. Past winners include former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, Growth Energy co-chairman Tom Buis, Ambassador Terry Branstad, retired four-star General Wesley Clark, and Richard Childress of Richard Childress Racing.

“We are thrilled to recognize Joel with the America’s Fuel Award in recognition of his guidance, vision and positive impact on the growth of the entire biofuels industry. Under his leadership, Kwik Trip rolled out 300 E15 sites in just four months and ushered in a new model for expansion,” Growth Energy CEO Emily Skor said. “We are forever grateful for his dedication, and we present this award as a token of our appreciation.”

Growth Energy also presented the following individuals with TOBI awards, given each year to Growth Energy members who exhibit innovation, fortitude, perseverance, and leadership within the biofuels industry:

  • Paige Donnelly, Public Engagement Manager, Novozymes
  • Gunner Greene, COO/GM, Iroquois Bio-Energy
  • Brian Schasel, Environmental/Technical Manager, Big River Resources
  • Jerry Tegels, Ethanol Business Development Manager, Buckman
  • Steve Walk, COO, Protec Fuel Management
  • Rob Walther, VP of Federal Advocacy, POET

ELC brings together biofuels leaders and supporters, giving them a venue to discuss current issues and successes while celebrating achievements of the industry in moving America forward.

Press Contact:
Chris Hogan