May 11, 2020

The Honorable Andrew Wheeler Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 204600

Dear Administrator Wheeler:

As mayors of towns and cities across America, we urge the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to uphold the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) and reject any proposed waiver under Section 211(o)(7) of the Clean Air Act. Some of us have already seen our local ethanol plant shutter its doors while others have witnessed their local ethanol plant reduce operations. This is having devastating ripple effects throughout our economy. Such waivers would further damage our communities and the farmers, workers, and families who depend on a vibrant biofuels industry.

The unprecedented, nationwide COVID-19 pandemic is keeping drivers off the road and crashing demand for gasoline and ethanol alike. Conditions for motor fuel are hurting us all as virtually every gallon of gasoline contains at least 10-percent ethanol. More than 70 plants have completely shuttered their doors, another 70 have significantly cut production, and we expect this to worsen. Two of the nation's largest plants in Nebraska and Iowa have also closed. In just two months, more than half of U.S. ethanol production is offline, putting more than 350,000 jobs throughout rural America at risk. The biofuels industry is reeling.

The request for these waivers is unjustified under the law. Such waivers from RFS requirements may only be granted if there is a demonstration that the RFS causes severe economic harm to the economy as a whole. In reality, refiner market conditions are a result of plummeting demand for gasoline across the country, not compliance with the RFS. Further, the RFS already considers demand reduction by adjusting annual blending volumes to reflect actual motor fuel demand.

Lastly, the claim that higher Renewable Identification Numbers (RIN) prices hurt refiners is wrong. According to EPA's own RIN market analysis study<sup>1</sup> released in 2015, the agency found that merchant refiners are not disadvantaged by higher RIN prices as costs are recovered in the sale of their product.

Our communities depend on the RFS to support commodity prices for our farmers, high-skilled job opportunities for our workers, and reduce harmful air pollutants in our air. We ask that EPA reject unjustifiable RFS waiver requests and protect rural communities.

Sincerely,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. (June 10, 2015). A Preliminary Assessment of RIN Market Dynamics, RIN Prices, and Their Effects. Author: Dallas Burkholder. Docket Number: EPA-HQ-OAR-2015-0111.

Brad Ahrenstorff Mayor Lake Crystal, MN

Jayme Akin Mayor Redfield, SD

Anson Albarado Village President Cadott, WI

Mayor Jeff Antofer Mayor Coon Rapids, IA

Mayor Jim Ardis Mayor Peoria, IL

Louis Armstrong Mayor Monroe, WI

Paul Aylward Mayor Huron, SD

Brett Barker Mayor Nevada, IA

Dennis Bergman Mayor Lena, IL

Jon Billups Mayor Burlington, IA

John W. Boggs Mayor Portland, IN Lois Bragg Mayor La Plata, MO

Jim Bulkley Mayor Columbus, NE

Sarah Caron Mayor Watertown, SD

Scott Carter Village President Necedah, WI

Kevin Coleman Mayor Hennepin, IL

Paul Corkle Mayor Atkinson, NE

Chris Cox Mayor Centralia, MO

Tom DeBaun Mayor Shelbyville, IN

Patrick Degen Mayor Emmetsburg, IA

Josh Deimeke Mayor Laddonia, MO

Clayton Erickson Mayor Central City, NE Bob Everson Mayor Mitchell, SD

Gabe Fiscus Mayor Goldfield, IA

Sheldon Geise Mayor Morris, MN

Les Glinsman Mayor Ord, NE

Joel Greer Mayor Marshalltown, IA

Alan Haas Mayor Stanley, WI

Brad Hart Mayor Cedar Rapids, IA

Justin Haught Mayor Waucoma, IA

Gene Hausauer Mayor Ortonville, MN

Lee Herek Town Chairman Plymouth, WI

James "Talt" Holman Mayor Macon, MO Keith Horgen Mayor St. Ansgar, IA

Harold Hove Mayor Stanhope, IA

Richard Hunt Mayor Shenandoah, IA

David Jones Mayor Atlantic, IA

Bruce W. Keenan Mayor Spirit Lake, IA

Doug Kirchoff Mayor Le Mars, IA

Dave Krahling Mayor Sioux Center, IA

Gib Kreuger Village President Boyceville, WI

Janice M. Leonard Mayor Corning, IA

John Long Mayor Monroe City, MO

Scott A. Long Mayor Wabash, IN Scott Maddasion Mayor Clinton, IA

Joseph May Mayor Estherville, IA

Julie Moore-Wolf Mayor Decatur, IL

Lance Munyon Mayor Philipsburg, KS

Todd Naselroad Mayor Alexandria, IN

Wayne Olson Town Chairman Fountain, WI

Kevin Van Otterloo Mayor Rock Valley, IA

Pat Raffety Mayor Milbank, SD

Vern Rasmussen Jr. Mayor Albert Lea, MN

Barry Redfern Mayor York, NE

Kurt Reicks Mayor Preston, MN Leo Reiter Mayor Jewell, IA

Paul Rennemeyer Mayor Windsor, CO

Travis Schaunaman Mayor Aberdeen, SD

Bill Schickel Mayor Mason City, IA

Rick Scholbrock Mayor Hanlontown, IA

Chad Spence Mayor Union City, IN

Mike Spirz Mayor Montgomery, MO

Terry Taft Town Chairman Necedah, WI

James Tendol Sr. Mayor Superior, IA

Hans Trousil Mayor West Burlington, IA

Von Tuttle Mayor Gove, KS Timothy Whyte Mayor Oakley, KS

Steve Wickre Mayor Hudson, SD

Deb Wilk Mayor Big Stone City, SD

Gregg Wright Mayor Randall, IA